Ben Gmetro: Organ, Vocals – Matt Cassidy: Guitar, Vocals – Dave Molnar: Bass, Vocals – Charlie Druesedow: Drums

Dark Rides and Grim Visions is the forthcoming release from New Planet Trampoline, a four-piece psychedelic rock band from Cleveland, Ohio.

The band returns after an 8-year hiatus with an expansive double-LP showcasing their unique spin on the psych rock genre.

New Planet Trampoline was spawned from the Davenport Collective, a Cleveland-based scene that included The Volta Sound and The Dreadful Yawns. After recording a handful of demos, guitarist Matt Cassidy recruited members of the Yawns (BOMP!, Exit Stencil) to perform the songs live. Ben Gmetro (Farfisa), Charlie Druesedow (drums), and Dave Molnar (bass) stayed on as permanent members.

Sharing an affinity for British psychedelic and progressive rock, the group solidified its sound with a mixture of swirling, organ-driven drones and spaced-out guitars. Following a string of self-released EPs, Elephant Stone Records released The Curse of the New Planet Trampoline in 2004. The band toured in its support before taking an extended break in 2006 to focus on other projects.

New Planet Trampoline reformed for what was meant to be a one-off performance of Pink Floyd’s The Piper at the Gates of Dawn at a local Halloween show in 2013. This lead to an invitation to reprise the Piper set at The Committee to Keep Music Evil’s kick-off show for Austin Psych Fest in 2014.

Revived and inspired, the group headed into the studio to complete The Wisconsin Witch House EP (2014) and resume sessions on Dark Rides and Grim Visions, the album they had begun writing back in 2005.

Dark Rides and Grim Visions veers between intricate psych-pop (“Ex-President”), raging garage-punk (“Nervous Intuition”), and multi-part prog epics (“Nearly Finished Face”), packing its 69 minutes with melodic, experimental, and lyrically cryptic songs.

The album will be available on digital, CD, and gatefold LP formats in March 2016.